Emotional Literacy

Emotional Literacy is defined as the ability to understand and express feelings.

To have Emotional Literacy one must have self-awareness and recognition of their own feelings and know how to manage them, for example the ability to stay calm when angered or to reassure oneself when in doubt.

There are five key areas of emotional literacy:

  • Self-awareness
  • Self-regulation
  • Motivation
  • Empathy
  • Social skills.

There are training courses which can help you to learn more about emotional literacy that come with resources and tools to use with children. There are also many story books and film resources that you can use to explore feelings and emotions and use as stimuli for emotional literacy.